Rethink Technologies: Our Future Plans

Roger Faulkner
3 min readJul 8, 2019

Most of the people that will read this article will be coming from our Twitch channel. We’ve haven’t posted about business in quite some time and you’re probably wondering:

“WHAT’S GOING ON?”

In the past few weeks, I filed patents related to my Inflatable Vest Respirator and also to a method of dealing with body hydrolysis and composting. This is part of my campaign to file 40 provisional patents within a year or so. This is part of my strategy to get some of my orphan inventions into the real world. What I am doing is first filing a patent application and then disclosing the idea in such a way that it is only patentable by me if I follow up with further patent applications within a year, and otherwise becomes part of the public domain.

I do recognize that this is an unusual strategy. It is predicated on my precarious health situation (I have ALS). I have too many inventions to pursue them in the ordinary sequential manner. Therefore, I am trying the shotgun approach. I know that my inventions are grounded and practical and I also know that I will not be able to pursue them by myself. Therefore, I am looking for entrepreneurial partners.

The most likely of my recent filed patents to be successful in an ordinary way is the Inflatable Vest Respirator; by that, I mean that this is suitable for conventional investment by angel investors and then by venture capital or strategic partners.

Last week we had a meeting with Ben Gatti and Phillipe Loher at the Davidson Hurt Hub entrepreneurial incubator.

Benjamin Gatti

Ben is the co-founder and leader of MakerSpace Charlotte at Queen’s University. He is interested in helping with the Inflatable Vest Respirator as a student project. He also proposed a new and perhaps more fitting name for the device… the “conformal ventilator.” We are pleased with this formulation and are considering changing the name we use going forward.

Phillipe Loher

Phillipe is the founder of a machine learning group that has linked up with LaunchLKN in Davidson, NC. Phillipe is heavily involved with the Hurt Hub and with entrepreneurship in general. He is also involved with Thomas Jefferson University and their innovation hub in Philidelphia.

Ben and Phillipe both share a common interest in helping young entrepreneurs launch into careers through their passions.

Roger Faulkner (left), David Pfohl (right)

This particular meeting we had happened because David Pfohl introduced us to Jane Campbell, a Davidson Town counselor and co-founder of News of Davidson, and generally speaking, a promoter of entrepreneurship in the town of Davidson. David Pfohl has been taking a major role in assisting us to develop a strategy around the Inflatable Vest Respirator. He has helped us to pursue connections with Duke University researchers among other things.

We are still in the formative stage of figuring out how to proceed with these new potential partners but we are excited by the prospects of working with these people.

Thanks to: NisseOnTwitch, MissGinaDarling, Syrmor, and ItsSliker for helping us launch the channel. Also, some of our moderators have put a huge amount of time into our channel: that_onion, GamingForCancerUK, TechJimbo, DarkthemeCoder, WinkWonk, andGalactus1, ReadyPlayerEmma, and everyone else. We recently passed 7000 followers and we are very grateful for that. We are particularly looking for entrepreneurial connections around the world that will lead to ways forward for some of the big ideas that we are pursuing.

--

--